2021  Crystal Apple Winners

The InterMountain Education Service District (IMESD) and Cove School District are proud to announce the winners of the 2021 Crystal Apple “Excellence in Education” Awards. A total of 14 individuals were honored last night, Monday, May 3, at an awards ceremony at La Grande Middle School. It was the 9th Annual Crystal Apple Awards for Union County. 

Each year, the IMESD partners with its school districts to recognize outstanding administrators, teachers, educational assistants and office and building staff for their dedication and commitment to students and for their willingness to go above and beyond their regular duties. Nominations are submitted over a two-month period by administrators, coworkers, parents, students and community members. Winners are selected from these nominations by school district administration.

 “In the past year, the COVID-19 pandemic has been one of the greatest challenges to K-12 education, but many educators have stepped up and worked even harder to serve eastern Oregon’s students. Due to these challenges, celebrating this year’s Crystal Apple Award winners has been even more important and more special,” said Michele Madril, IMESD director of communication.

 Cove School District Winners:

Kim McBride (Secretary)

Russel Olmsted (Shop Teacher)

Congratulations Mrs. McBride and Mr. "Teach" Olmsted! We appreciate all that you contribute to Cove School.